top of page

Film Entry Seven: Dangerous Beauty 1998

Updated: May 30, 2022


Written by Shelby-Liza Ndumbi


Hi hi, Cupcakes! How are you doing?


Sunday Cream is where I’ll be giving my likes and dislikes/hate of movies I’ve recently finished... after three days or more than two weeks.


Why? Because I watch movies like that. It’s amusing knowing how my mind works.


If you haven’t read my last entries, they will be posted under ‘Sunday Cream’. Last time I spoke about Through My Window 2022, which originated from Wattpad and turned into an even worse film that made me cry in anticipation of its eventual end.


I hate movies like Through My Window and their obsession with obsession. It gets so tiring to watch and soul-sucking to wait for something of actual merit to find its way to our screens. I also mention that it’s not Wattpad’s fault but the writers behind such… well, whatever it is they want to call it because it’s not Romance. The application helps writers get their stories out there, like me, yet it’s unfortunate that it harbors nonsense as well.


Which kind of makes this Sunday’s entry all the more fascinating when it comes to certain aspects. I didn’t think I’d be mentioning bed activities twice one after another. But here we are. Lol.


I think this took me more than a month to finish. Ha! I didn’t mean it at first, but then again, it took a while.


This was a random find on Netflix.


There will be spoilers for those who enjoy secrecy…


The movie follows a common woman, Veronica Franco, in 16th-century Venice. She’s prevented to marry a man named Marco Vernier, her nobleman lover. But because he is later betrothed to another with better social standing than miss Franco, she’s left with two choices suggested by her mother Paola. Submit herself to a convent or become a courtesan, so she can still have a piece of him. Guess which one she chooses?


The first thing that caught my eye was the constant sex the movie contained. It is rated R.


I said that the sexual parts in the film Through My Window made the whole experience irritating to watch. It’s kind of how fan service in certain anime’s like Fire Force manage to actually ruin the whole show rather than whatever it is the creators were really going for. That’s not the case today.


Whether they were about to have sex, or in the verge of finishing, it was everywhere.

Clearly, this isn’t for me. Lol. I kept jolting at the sight of bare tits and ass, especially men’s. Gross. The desire to be seductive and sex are the main drive of the film, which is why when it happens I look elsewhere. I can’t have that in the middle of the night.


It’s seen as a past time activity. Aside from reciting poetry like Veronica Franco does during the second half of the movie.


Which goes down to our next point and that’s the choices these women have made in order to secure some sort of lavish lifestyle. They are educated in the art of seduction. How to please a man and keep them coming back for more vagina. It’s even more desperate when Veronica’s mom is the one encouraging her daughter to continue such a… profession.


Paola even goes off on Veronica by saying she’s not prettier than she was, nor more skillful than she prior. Her mother felt the need to flame her own daughter, so she could remain in that life. After all, it’s with her tits that Venice was able to obtain ships for their war against the Muslim Tusks.


Titties solve everything.

Paola even says that courtesans are the most educated women, but is it really schooling when they are just learning about the best sex positions? I rather call it having an experienced perspective on pleasure. What do you Cupcakes think?


There’s a scene I found very “knife to the back” where a small group of God-fearing, husband obedient women requested that Veronica make an appearance to confirm that their husbands are alive. Why do they ask her? It’s because she slept with each of them, sucking dick and whatnot. They asked her over to judge her more directly.


One of them even asks a favor of Veronica to teach her daughter when old enough how to be a courtesan. She’s meant to pimp the poor child. I laughed so hard at how deluded that wish was. It amazes me how that woman truly believes that the life of a courtesan is boundless, letting these girls prance around is fine. No rule shall hold them.


When in realism, once these girls find an unfortunate end to their talents, they’re sent to live with the rest of the city’s filth. The dogs, as it were, the musty-looking ones.


Marco obviously wasn’t for it once he found out, but he is married, so that doesn’t stop him anyway. Like when she has sex with Marco for the first time as he basically cheats.


The romance between Veronica and Marco was, at the beginning, random because they just suddenly squished themselves together so quickly. It felt like lust to me for the first part of the movie, but then it switched so fast that it gave me whiplash. Lol.


But that isn’t even the most exciting part because something ten times more messed up happens. The plague. A Goddamn plague. The movie went dark and crude real quick.


Maffio Vernier, Marco’s cousin, became a church guy for the third part, orchestrated a trial and tried to condemn Veronica in what he was sure was witchcraft. Given the title of the film, I’m sure that’s why Maffio believes it to be unholy. The bewitching beauty of these women to lure men to their beds.


He thinks that the overflowing amount of sexually active women in the courtesan business are the cause behind the 56,000 dead. 🫣😮


Marco and I had the same thought when we said that the root for such a dramatical and unnecessary gathering to send a woman to hell for things that aren’t witchcraft but strong appeal for her techniques was because Maffio was vindictive. He couldn’t get some and whined like a rat, so boom, deliver her to the devil, why don’t you.


He was so adamant, it was chaos. I loved it when he couldn’t keep persuading the issue he created. Ha! Ha! Ha!


Seeing him lose, even during a poetry smackdown against Veronica, brings tears of joy to my eyes. He’s an arrogant character through and through. No change whatsoever, he just gets worse and worse. That’s clear descent to absolute madness, my guy.

I almost forgot to mention that there was a lack of severity over the plague because that jump scare drop was quickly blown away like a cartoon character in a hurricane. What mattered was the failed efforts of an ass-like envious man.


I enjoyed the scenery of Venice. I wished I saw more of it regardless of my nonexistent traveling life. The rest of the characters, aside from Maffio, were endearing and less entitled once they realized that they can’t simply let the words of a jealous and unexplored man persuade the judge into burning her… after Marco stood up first, of course, and yelled at them multiple times. Lol.


He was there to protect her and confess his role in the matter as an accomplice. Marco became more reliable as a person. Even though he’s still legally married to Guila De Lezze.


The last bit after the trial was cancelled, Marco and Veronica were seen basking in each other’s company on a boat to nowhere. The sun, maybe. Text showed up on screen saying that they remained lovers for the rest of their lives as Veronica opened her home as a sanctuary for those who also got mistreated by the Inquisition (the high court). More like the high asses.


I’m giving this a 8/10 rating, the second highest one thus far! I really liked the movie, which is not something I’ve said a lot while doing these film entries. The majority of them are decent at best, the better one remains The Woman in Black.

My socials, if you want to follow me, are listed at the bottom of each page. If you like what I write, don’t be shy and subscribe to become an official Sugar member of the site like Marie, Shadys and jbwphoto1 and stay up-to-date for more content.


Love. Share. Comment.


I hope you had fun reading because I had fun writing. See you next time, Cupcakes.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page