top of page

Film Entry Six: Through My Window 2022

Updated: May 30, 2022


Written by Shelby-Liza Ndumbi


I’m back, Cupcakes! – If you even noticed that I was gone for a bit, took a break from Sunday Cream. I thought it was necessary.

Anyway, I’m glad you guys are back to read another entry. Thank you.


Sunday Cream is where I’ll be giving my likes and dislikes/hate of movies I’ve recently finished... after three days or more than two weeks.


Why? Because I watch movies like that. It’s fun knowing how my mind works.


If you haven’t read my last entries, they will be posted under ‘Sunday Cream’. Last time I spoke about The Woman in Black 2012 starring Daniel Radcliffe better known for his roles as Harry Potter, as Wallace in The F Word, and Ig Perrish in Horns. The last one didn’t do so well… lol.



I didn’t have too much to say about The Woman in Black because it was a decent horror film. Usually I try to avoid as much as possible knowing that my brain registers plenty and then plays it again when I go to sleep producing nightmares. But this one was an exception. A surprisingly good one.


Now, to talk about why we’re really here. I was on the WEBTOON app reading I believe it was Not Even Bones, Night of Silence, First Ones Out, Nice To Meet You, R.U. Screwed, 100, and/or Kirasha, when I would reach the end of a chapter there were ads. One of which was of this film.


It kept popping up every time I would arrive on the app to read. I also noticed that it’s a Wattpad story, and I’m going to explain why I have my reservations about both.


This movie made me so mad, I couldn’t bare it anymore. Through My Window took me a while to gather strength and finish it. It’s probably not as bad as The Outsider. Ah, Jared Leto, I’m still upset you went through with that nonsense of an entertainment. But it’s not as good as The Woman in Black.


I’m posting on early Monday morning because I fell asleep forgetting I had to finish this. Oops.


There will be spoilers for those who give a damn when it comes to this crap… lol.


The movie follows Raquel, our female protagonist. She has a crush on her next-door neighbor named Ares Hidalgo who comes from a very wealthy family. He and his brothers have been named after three Greek gods. Artemis being the eldest, Ares the middle child and Apolo the youngest. Ares starts to grow feelings for Raquel even though his family disapproves of the union. I hate the way they wrote ‘Apollo’, I prefer it with double LLs. I found that the Hidalgo family must be that arrogant to name their children like that. Not that there’s anything wrong with the names themselves.


What made me mad at first was the storyline between Raquel and Ares. At the beginning of the film, she mentions how much she’s in love with the Hidalgo boy next door, but when you really analyze it, she’s obsessed with the man. She so much as admits it.


She constantly searches him on the internet, keeps photos of the guy and his family on her laptop, follows him like a lost horny puppy, stalks him and lets him do whatever he pleases for the tiniest of favors like walking her home. From the looks of it, she has no self-respect.


The writers want us to believe that all this is romantic and cute when it’s not. It’s concerning and dangerous.


Throughout the movie, their connection holds no merit. It’s all sex and stalking and heavy breathing. I find that to be crappy. They may be high school students, but it takes pure love, respect and reasonable appreciation for a relationship to be as strong as Eugene (Flynn Rider) and Rapunzel from Tangled.


What I kept seeing here was how to romanticize stalking and obsession. I kept wondering why was she so hypnotized by this guy. He ain’t that thrilling.


You know when you go see a movie that contains sex in it, that’s the premise of it and you knew that? That’s why you wanted to watch it. It has spanking, blindfolds, and metal balls that find their way into some girl’s vagina.


The problem with Through My Window is that the sexual aspect of it makes it boring. It’s not alluring, or some other word as it wants to be because I know it’s rooted by obsession. Not cute at all. It’s not sexual tension, nor natural love, it’s obsession. That’s why it bothers me. There’s nothing genuine during their… sexy time.


Maybe genuine obsession.


When Raquel and Ares put some effort in trying to get to know one another, it felt like forced exposition. Somehow they make the female lead as interesting as a plank of wood, yet everyone is enthralled by such blandness. I’m looking at you, Elle, Tessa.


There’s a dance sequence at a party between Raquel and her best friend, who is also in love with her, named Yoshi. They seemed to be having fun, but she kept paying attention to Ares making out with some female to, for once, not intoxicate herself with him because her genitals kept talking to her. I guess the dick was too good. Ew...


Yoshi deserves better, and he does manage to leave her toxic ass for a bit. Good on him – for now.


Raquel kind of reminds me of Bella Swan from the Twilight Saga and all hell breaks loose when you use Twilight as a reference. Her obsession over Ares is made clearer when she starts showing that not having him around 24/7 causes a dent to her brain just like how Bella pauses her life because Edward disappeared. At least Raquel doesn’t completely forget how to be a person during her and Ares’ silence.

I almost forgot to mention that Ares is also a little creeper by deliberately hacking into her wi-fi password in order to speak to her.


Why do they always make stories like this??


My second point is what you’ve been waiting for would have to be where it came from. Wattpad. For those who think this writing site is home to cheesy, alarming, obsessed-ridden, bad storytelling, ignorant, typical, repetitive, cliché, irritating, lackluster, uncreative bullcrap.


You’re right. But not entirely.


I personally think, without having to search for too long, that there are good tales on that site. The issue is that those stories take too much time to find their way into the light, which allows things like the After series, Fifty Shades, Kissing Booth, Through My Window, and more to invade our screens.


I write using Wattpad. I may have published one chapter for one of my novels as I’m writing this entry, but nonetheless, I think it’s pretty good so far. I don’t believe the application is terrible, but some of the stories that make their way there are.


Through My Window just so happens to be on Wattpad, and the site gets a slightly bad reputation. Absolutely dumb crap that came from Wattpad have been turned into movies, but it doesn’t mean that everything on that site is poop.


The people who write on it, including myself, are getting shunned for this. You can blame whoever created those toxic concoctions they call romance novels listed above, but don’t come for the potentially good ones themselves.


The making of this movie shouldn’t have been made. The second the director and screenwriters finished reading the book, they should have thought: “Hmm. Maybe we should spare ourselves the embarrassment of producing this film. Don’t the audience members deserve better?”

I know I deserved better than this.


I truly believe the story could have been done differently for the best, perhaps removing the clear lust some writers have for including irrational behaviour portrayed by whichever character and romanticize it thinking no one would complain. Ha! Wrong.


The last few bits of the movie goes into the smallest of details when it talks about Ares’ family’s inability to show any ounce of real appreciation towards one another until Ares almost dies from anaphylactic shock at Raquel’s prom.


To be honest, I laughed when he fell into the pool during his fight with Yoshi. I’m not trying to be mean, it came out of nowhere. Since I couldn’t find the clip properly on YouTube, I filmed it for you guys. Enjoy!


The Hidalgo members take advantage that almost losing their son means they can quickly resolve their petty minds in the last five minutes of the film. Wow. Breakthrough.


I can admit that I like Raquel’s fashion sense. It’s gorgeous. And if you watch it in English dub, the subtitles are remarkably well done according to the voiceovers.


I’m giving this a 6/10 rating because it knows what it did. I think that’s accurate enough. I had a difficult time coming into terms with the fact that they played the song I Hate You, I Love You by Gnash ft. Olivia O’brien in Spanish knowing how much I love that song since the movie made me want to set something on fire. It’s exhilaratingly cruel.


The book I’m typing on Wattpad is called Guns & Swords. Chapter one is already available if you want to give it a read and more are coming soon.


Shoutout to Shadys, Marie and jbwphoto1 for subscribing to my website. You too can become a member and stay up-to-date with more content by logging in.


Love. Share. Comment.


I’ll write to you Cupcakes later. Bye!

RELATED LINK:











Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page