top of page

Film Entry Five: The Woman in Black 2012

Updated: Jul 8, 2022



Written by Shelby-Liza Ndumbi


Welcome and Happy New Year, Cupcakes!


Hope you’re doing great.


This is Sunday Cream where I’ll be giving my likes and dislikes/hate of movies I’ve recently finished... after three days or more than two weeks.


Why? Because I watch movies like that. It’s fun knowing how my mind works.


If you haven’t read my last entries, they will be posted under ‘Sunday Cream’ once you click on ´Sugar Blog’. Last time I spoke about Space Pirate Captain Harlock 2013.


A film that received so much popularity in Italy but not raving reviews from me. In all honesty, I can’t say I don’t want a second installment. Maybe the sequel’s controversy of them being bad won’t apply here.


Now, we’re back with another entry I found fascinating given that jump scare films aren’t the types I go looking for, yet this one with our resident Harry Potter actor, Daniel Radcliffe wasn’t so dreary. This one, I thought, was going to be slightly difficult to explain... lol

It took me four days to complete this movie since it felt kind of slow, too slow I must say. I got sleepy...

There will be spoilers for the living who don’t like it... lol

The Woman in Black 2012 is about a London lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Daniel Radcliffe), who

travels to a remote village to settle the affairs of a deceased woman who used to live in a secluded house somewhere outside of town surrounded by sinister-looking trees, a march of water and odd gravestones. He later discovers the town is being haunted by the same deceased Jennet Humfrye A.K.A the Woman in Black, a scorned ghost.


Although, the village folks claim to not know why all matters of unexplained events are happening, the woman is terrorizing the locals due to the death of her son, Nathaniel Drablow, who drowned in a thick lump of mud and left there to die. She swore revenge to annihilate the remaining children as compensation for her own until put to rest. Many have perished at her ghostly hand. Arthur Kipps attempts to find the lost dead child of the woman and reunite them, despite the multiple scares she caused him before the truth of her anger was revealed. Kipps is a widow and raises his son, Joseph with a nanny he left back in London till they venture to see him a week from his departure.

I said this will be complex to explain because that’s true. I wasn’t sure where to start... so, I chose what I liked about the movie.


Supernatural horror is the film’s genre, and I liked the way they made the setting look somber and spooky. While watching, it made me feel like something was about to jump out from behind someone’s ass.


The setting is a vital part of entertainment to bring whatever energy to life accordingly, and spooky things aren’t always my tea, but Radcliffe did wonderfully in that environment. I almost rewatched it. The Eel Marsh House Arthur Kipps was staying at while the creepy occurrences were happening was well done, like the steak I never had.


Anyway, although the characters were each engaging in their own way, like Samuel Dally and his wife Elisabeth Dally, I wish we spent more time with Kipps’ son Joseph. The only things I was made aware of was that his mother, Stella Kipps died giving birth to him. He spends most days without his father due to his job, so he stays with his nanny. No mention of school, nor friends.

Even when he and his nanny go visit papa Kipps, Joseph isn’t present enough. He and his father even die towards the end after Arthur seemingly finished business with the Woman in Black, she entranced his child into walking onto the train tracks, he followed in attempts at saving him only for them both to die and reunite with Stella.


Joseph Kipps, the little... I want to say eight-year-old, that arrived and didn’t stay long.


My brain went in and out while watching this movie regardless of how decent the film was, like I mentioned earlier not being sure what to say. This motion picture made me disoriented without the headache and the sense of emptiness.


There weren’t too many negative points for once, just that I took some time to complete it. But, speaking of the slow pace of before, I’ll elaborate.


Maybe it’s because the pace was actually reasonable unlike Harlock or The Outsider, it didn’t go all over the place.


Like I said, slow.


But the other reason this took me four days was because it’s a horror film and watching those at night is a terrible idea. Nightmares will summon themselves. Trust me lol.


My mind does this weird thing where it remembers scary nonsense, registers it for later when I go to bed, and it plays like it’s normal. I hate that... It keeps me up for five minutes.


Lately, that hasn’t happened, but I won’t give it time to.


I’m still surprised I watched this. Damn.


I can honestly say I liked it more than dislike/hate it. I do recommend this film for Daniel Radcliffe fans and strange-feeling horror fans... with no mind invaders like nightmares.


I’m giving it an 8/10. I recently thought that maybe this could have been a Halloween edition. As usual, I'm late.


Normally, I always have a side thought, shockingly not today, Cupcakes. Maybe next time.


Woooo woooo


My socials (yikes lol) are located at the bottom of any page.


Love. Share. Comment. Thank you!

If you like what I write (or do), don‘t be afraid to subscribe and/or make an account to stay tuned for more Sunday Cream.

😊 Note: For the next couple of Sundays, I won’t be posting any film entries for a little bit. I’m not sure for how long, but I’ll be back soon. You can also find me on Wattpad: @Shelby-Liza

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page