top of page

Film Entry One: The Outsider 2018

Updated: Jan 12, 2022




Written by Shelby-Liza Ndumbi

Heyo!


Welcome to Sunday Cream, Cupcakes. This is where I’m going to write about my likes and dislikes/hate of movies I’ve recently finished... especially the ones that took more than two weeks to complete like this one.


If you haven’t seen the movie, there will be spoilers for those who don’t like them.


2018’s The Outsider. Don’t mistake this film with the novel The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, not the same. So much more... empty. Lol


Let me explain.


Jared Leto stars in this, that’s why I’m here. I saw him in Urban Legends 1998, and I loved that movie, so I watched it twice.


The Outsider is two hours long. Amazing! It’s about a POW, Nick Lowell (Jared Leto), an American who’s released from prison and stays in Japan post-WWII then joins the yakuza, a crime organization notably the Shiromatsu led by Akihiro Shiromatsu.


And here I thought it was going to fill the movie with relevant events which are engaging.


Such as: Leto’s character’s past. He became a deserter for crimes unknown to the viewers. Miyu, Nick Lowell’s love interest, who is she aside from seeing her serve drinks once, dancing, being a yakuza member’s sister and getting pregnant? What’s the whole beef between Miyu and Orochi, an ex-Shiromatsu member and ex-partner? Why was Nick imprisoned in Japan somewhere near Osaka? Kiyoshi and Miyu’s storyline with their family. The swords Kiyoshi gave Nick.


Two hours and they can’t give us that?


One of the main reasons I called this movie empty is because Nick doesn’t speak. He’s the lead protagonist and yet, doesn’t say enough for the audience to remember his presence during any scene. Sure, his character is meant to be brooding, calm, slightly quiet and strong looking.


But he’s too quiet. There are moments the other characters ask him a question, and he just stays silent for long periods of time. My head lowers itself as I wait for him to speak only for him to not say anything. And when he does say something, it’s short.

Let’s not forget that Jared speaks Japanese exactly like a foreigner would.


I would yell at the screen saying: “Speak. Speak, my God!” That’s more entertaining than his non-existent speech. You begin to wonder why he’s on screen at all.

The second point that annoys me is Nick and Miyu’s relationship. During the movie, Nick is seen showing interest, as much as he can, towards Miyu after she served him an American beer.


Quite frankly, I wanted to like their romance because she was described as this flower linked to a crime group and he was a wandering ex-soldier with some dents in his past, yet no. I got no context between them, and the director wants me to believe it was blissful.


You don’t even see them kiss. At all. None. The only two times I can honestly say revealed something noteworthy is when Nick gets an irezumi tattoo to match Miyu’s and the many eye exchanges they share. Especially the one on the train.


I would’ve loved to see Nick’s realistic struggles in getting comfortable and accepted into the Shiromatsu group, having Miyu show him ways of opening up to her. Better communication to help balance them out as people and partners.

It felt loveless and bland. Noting that she gets pregnant with Nick’s kid and there was no warmth whatsoever. It may be his character, but he showed no emotion. I hated that.


At some point you’d think he would after meeting her.


Side thought: Am I the only one that thinks Jared Leto in this movie looks like a sane version of the Joker? Lol Given the fact he played Joker in Suicide Squad 2016 and I didn’t know..





I think my last point would be the pacing. They had time and wasted it by filling it with moments which could have been intriguing but weren’t as much.


The trailer was far more enlightening.


5/10 rating from me.


You can comment below with your reactions.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page