top of page

What am I When You See Me?

Updated: Apr 30, 2022


Written by Shelby-Liza Ndumbi


Poem piece based on my novel character, Rokka @sweetart.101 to see more!


I can‘t answer that question because I don’t know.

It’s like you try so hard to make people happy while throwing away your sanity.

That is part of my charm. But why is it that I’m the one drowning in sorrow?

What am I when you see me?

A new victim to push around till you‘re satisfied?

An obstacle to pass before reaching the shore?


Why are you so insecure?


I don’t understand how is this fair to be treated like a monster.

It’s not my fault I was born this way.

My eyes are different. One is blue. One is purple.

Due to what I can be you fear me. You hate me. But don’t you see?

I‘m the one on the receiving end, not you.


I won’t listen to what you think is true.

Abomination. Monster. Demon.

Abomination. Monster. Demon.

DEMON. DEMON. DEMON.


I can’t hear you! I won’t hear you!

Listen to my voice brain. Not theirs.

They‘re just unrightfully scared.


They've never understood the torment they've caused.


It leaves them in awes,


Mother told me to walk the world tall.


But what am I without you?


You were part of my strength, now I feel small.


I can't... Wait!

I hear you now, Mother.


I probably misunderstood.


Yet if they want a Demon, I'll show them all I could.


I'm no monster!





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page